St. Mary’s Seminary and University’s Center for Continuing Formation is a facility that “aims to promote learning through theological reflection, spiritual nourishment and enlivening conversation.” The five-level, 25,000sf addition to the existing structure is cast stone and brick, in colors that are consistent with the Indiana limestone of the original building.
The Center boasts 30 hotel-quality guest rooms with private baths, as well as meeting and conference rooms. A renovated conference wing includes a dining facility, kitchen, large classrooms, and a tiered convocation room with semi-circular seating and state-of-the-art audio-visual equipment. The interior features outstanding workmanship in the design, construction and installation of quality millwork, cabinetry, moldings, carpeting and slate tile work.
A brick fountain with a three-tiered spray enclosed by precast balustrades and serves as the centerpiece of the circular tar-and-chip paved entrance. Extensive site work also included an access road for the existing campus and the new facility, stormwater management and utility piping.
This is a working seminary on 63 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds in Roland Park, with buildings dating back to 1929. We worked both to avoid disrupting seminary activities and to show respect for the ecumenical setting. Construction personnel were strictly confined to the access road and the site, which comprised 45,000sf. The remaining 62 acres were kept clean of any construction debris.
|Award||1997 Excellence in Construction
New Construction and Addition
Associated Builders & Contractors